Ethics in breeding?

Bi-Weekly discussion topics.

Ethics in breeding?

Postby hawklover » Thu Oct 29, 2009 4:40 pm

So here I am, a newcomer to sw breeding. I am a fully disabled veteran with nothing but time on my hands. I am attempting to put together a breeding system that will contain some of the easier and very popular demersal spawning and mouth brooding marine fish, and also two very hard to breed fish, the Coral Beauty Angel, and Hawkfish. I would like to sell these fish when I get a system working. I am well aware that it could take me a few years to do this, and am looking forward to the challenge. Here is the question; Once I figure this out, is it ok to keep the details that allow me to culture them to myself? In such a way, I would have time to establish myself as a supplier of these fish before the large aquaculture companies get the info and set up large scale systems. Is it hurtful to the hobby for me to keep vital pieces of the info to myself? Could I be ostracized for it? Is there an acceptable amount of time for me to hold the info before spreading it around? What do you all think?
Ben (P.S. I really, really, really want to be the first person to succsesfully breed hawkfish)
Broodstock: Flame Hawks, Engineer Gobies, Ocellaris Clowns, Bangaii Cardinals, FireFish Magnifica, Azure Damsels, more to come with time!
hawklover

Re: Ethics in breeding?

Postby Luis A M » Thu Oct 29, 2009 5:03 pm

A recurrent question :lol:
Scientists keep finding for themselves,so nobody could publish first and steal them the fame.
Commercial breeders the same,so the concurrence won´t steal them the money.
Hobbysts are happy to tell everything,so they help the hobby and the future of some fish species.And earn the recognition of their fellow hobbyists.

But there are hobbyists and scientists glared by the $$$ who want to turn into commercials. :wink:

But don´t break your head with this dilemma now,wait to make a great finding and only then start to think! 8)
Luis