Combining Broodstock and Growout tank into one sump

Combining Broodstock and Growout tank into one sump

Postby Mr.Onyx » Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:33 pm

I just have a few questions because im planning out the "breeding room".

This is my plan:
- 2-10g tank for broodstock (oscellaris and percs)
- 40g sump
- 1-40g tank for growout tank (might be divided incase i have different babies)
- Large Skimmer

Now my question is, is it ok to plumb the broodstock and growout tank into one sump or will it create problems? I'm really just doing this for a hobby, I've loved fishes since I was a kid :)

TIA
Mr.Onyx
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: SO CAL

Re: Combining Broodstock and Growout tank into one sump

Postby Luis A M » Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:05 am

Mr.Onyx wrote:Now my question is, is it ok to plumb the broodstock and growout tank into one sump or will it create problems? I'm really just doing this for a hobby, I've loved fishes since I was a kid :)

TIA

Not the best thing,but it can be done if needed. :wink:
Luis
User avatar
Luis A M
Moderator
 
Posts: 5630
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Buenos Aires,Argentina

Postby Clownfish75 » Sun Feb 22, 2009 3:25 am

What Luis said is very true, not ideal, but will work.

I had mine connected once upon a time, just better control now they are seperate.

Christian
Clownfish75
 
Posts: 2999
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:22 am
Location: North Queensland, Australia

Postby FuEl » Sun Feb 22, 2009 3:51 am

I'm only using one sump for all my systems. I don't experience osmotic, pH or temperature shock when moving eggs, larvae or juveniles around. A good UV and protein skimmer is recommended if you decide to join all your systems together.
I love Artemac!
User avatar
FuEl
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:23 pm
Location: Singapore

Postby Mr.Onyx » Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:21 pm

when you guys say it's not ideal is it because I'll have trouble with water quality or diseases or ???

i think water quality can be managed with a big skimmer and WCs and I have no problem doing WC because I have a 110g drum I can use to make SW.
Mr.Onyx
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: SO CAL

Postby FuEl » Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:33 pm

Nothing beats daily siphoning and water changes. I change about 10 gallons a day. 8)
I love Artemac!
User avatar
FuEl
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:23 pm
Location: Singapore

Postby rkelman » Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:13 am

I agree. Not a good idea. Its a "all your eggs in one basket" kinda thing.
rkelman
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 12:49 pm
Location: Belleville, Ontario

Postby soonerseahorse » Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:52 am

I had my broodstock and larva tanks on one system. The total system is 800 gals and i thought it would break down fast enough, but i found out there was a slight amount of ammonia and nitrite that my system could never break down. I have just recently moved my baby tanks off the system and am setting up a new system for them. Now my tanks are 0 ammonia and nitrite and the fish are happier. (Other than the jumper i had last night :cry: . I am cycling the system as we speak and other than seahorses babys, i am using hob filters until the system is stable.
Teresa
soonerseahorse
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:08 pm
Location: Newalla, oklahoma


Return to Business



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests