Setting up a new Breedery

Setting up a new Breedery

Postby Fearlessmoto » Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:32 am

Hi! :D ,
I have been keeping marine tanks for a few years and want to step up to aquaculturing for online and local sales. do you guys have any suggestions on the following....
1. overall setup, what size tanks, how many, what other equipment?
2. Species to start with that are easy and usually successful
3. Contacts, other areas I can find fish breeding information

thanks guys, I appreciate the help!
Fearlessmoto

Postby KathyL » Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:31 am

Here are my suggestions:
1. Read, read, read! Joyce Wilkerson, Martin Moe, April Kirkendoll, are all good sources of information, as well as many of the authors of threads on this site. (Books can be purchased thru "Support MOFIB" link above, and help to support this site)

2. Have a question? The search feature on this site is a good first start, and you will get more information that way, than if you just start a new thread.

3. Still have a question? Ask on MOFIB. We are here to serve.

There are a million ways to do this hobby, and 2 million ways to start a business, and we cannot type them all here. In addition, you need to find your own way on many of the details, as someone else's design may not work for you and your unique circumstances.

It is always good to ask a specific question, like "What do you use to screen your overflows?" rather than general questions like "How to breed fish?"

Specific questions tend to get responses quickly, as they are answerable, and general questions tend to die off unanswered, as they are not answerable.:)

4. After doing a lot of reading, decide what you want to breed, and design your system to accomodate the animals' needs.

5. Then, see 2. and 3. above.

6. Then, start. :D

7. Let us know how it's going so we can learn from you!
KathyL

Thanks

Postby Fearlessmoto » Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:40 am