Removing Aiptasia from rock for Culture

Removing Aiptasia from rock for Culture

Postby skyeshoppe » Tue Jul 26, 2011 4:30 am

Hi everyone, I am new to this and this is my first post.

I have decided to try my hand at breeding berghia. I am starting with growing the aiptasia. I have built a setup with eight 10 gallon tanks and four 12 gallon Rubermaid containers for in-the-dark-culture. But currently, I only have about 50 or so aiptasia in one 10 gallon tank. All of them are on pieces of live rock that I have picked up from a few LFS. In my new setup I don't want put in any live rock to avoid accidentally adding predators to Berghia larvae. I have covered the bottoms of the tanks and containers with flat pieces of pvc that I would like to grow the aiptasia on.

I was wondering if anybody has any good ideas on how to remove the aiptasia from the rock to place in the tanks with the pvc. I have tried a razor but they always recede. I read somewhere online that if you put the rock in ice water the aiptasia will detach and float to the top. I tried taking a small rock and placing it in a small container with ice water and that didn't seem to work. The only other information I can find online is how to kill the aiptasia but unfortunately that is not what I am looking for. I am not really concerned about the harming the live rock. Except for one piece the rocks are more rock rubble than rock that I bought at a discount because they were covered in aiptasia. So if anybody has any ideas it would be more than appreciated.

Thanks
skyeshoppe

Re: Removing Aiptasia from rock for Culture

Postby Suzy » Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:07 am