Lysmata seticaudata

Lysmata seticaudata

Postby dobergoose » Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:58 am

First off I am very new to this and trying to write this from memory so please excuse my rough account of how this went and my dodgey spelling. I Thought I'd post this as I cant find much info on breeding these though I just copied what people had done with other types of peppermints. I've had 1 shrimp in my 50 gallon reef for just about a year and decided that as i never seen it much these days I'd add another so got another slightly smaller shrimp and within 2 weeks I spotted my original shrimp carrying eggs.
The larvae were released shortly after lights out, starting off with the odd 1 or 2 and ending with the shrimp doing a kind of backflip from the substrate to the surface and realeasing them all in one little splash. I collected the larvae using a plastic bottle after attracting them to the surface with the light on my phone. I deceded today that I'm going to get myself a larave snagger to save future late nights.
Not the best photo but best I have.
I hadn't really been expecting them so didnt have any brine shrimp prepared so I quickly made some up though it was probablly took me 16 hours from the hatch til I first got food to them. Also for the first week they were in a tupperware tub with about 2 litres of water and for this week I removed half a litre a day and added another litre til I got to about 4 and a half litres. After a week I made the trip to my lfs and bought a 18"x12"x12" tank and another heater and air pump. The tank is bare apart from the heater and a wooden airstone. I continued water changes and added more than I removed til the tank was about half full.
Stupidly I didn't keep a diary of events but for the next few weeks I changed water daily a litre or 2 at a time usually 50% fresh made up water and 50% from my reef tank that house the parents :D