Pearly/Yellowheaded Jawfish - Larvae batch #4

Pearly/Yellowheaded Jawfish - Larvae batch #4

Postby llasseter » Sun Nov 08, 2009 6:35 am

Hi all,
I guess I have decided to no longer sit on the sidelines and list my recent experiences about breeding marine fish. :)
I do this as a personal venture, since I am a reef tank fanatic I guess, but I am also a grad student in biology, so hopefully I can get a good paper or two out of this someday if I can do it sucessfully. We need more scientific data published in our hobby, hopefully I will be able to add some someday. On to the experiences......
About 10 months ago I purchased a mated pair of pearly jawfish Opistognathus aurifrons to attempt breeding.

My setup is as follows:
29gallon AGA tank, custom drilled, custom back left overflow
connected to a 45gal sump, that also runs my 90g display, and 14g frag tank.
Current USA 48w T5 HO fixture
5.5" DSB, with liverock placed in the substrate to prop up the liverock on top.
Temp 76.5-77.5F,maintained by 1/3HP chiller on the 90.
pH 8.10 minimum, maintained by Kalk Reactor/Doser in the sump (highest I have ever seen in the combined system is maybe 8.3)
Sump has a ~20gal refugium with 8" DSB, tons of chaeto, and LR w/ a 80w PC light, helping to keep the water chemistry stable.
12/12 Light Cycle