help - what went wrong?

help - what went wrong?

Postby shorty » Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:37 am

how many posts like this have you responded to?... lol.

Noob here - I tried to raise my first batch of ocellaris that hatched Sunday night (11pm-ish). The first day (yesterday) - everything seemed great. I fed rots and small amount of live phyto (enough to tint the water light green) @ 7AM, 12:30ish, and then 7ish PM. Had lights on from midnight Sunday night (hatch time) through about 10PM last night was the first lights out (almost 24 hours lights on). I had only one casualty (out of maybe 50) prior to lights out last night.

This morning, lights came on at 7AM - ALL but 3 of the 50ish larvae were dead. :(
Set-up: a 5 gal tank inside a 20 long. Oversized heater and small powerhead in the 20L which keeps the fry tank at a solid 83 degrees. Airpump and stone into the fry tank, valved back. I have probably about 3gal of 'broodstock' (DT/reef) water in the 5 gal. My readings in my DT are NO3 - 0.75, PO4 -0.08, Ca - 420, Alk - 7.5, Mag - 1360.

I have NH3 badge that reads 0 NH3 in the fry tank - also tested this morning with 0 readable NH3 with an old API kit. Thier bellies were fat last night. This morning - those that are alive have no bellies. I THINK they simply starved... but would really appreciate those of you with experience to chime in and give your opinions on what to do differently.

*What are your feeding and light schedules through meta?
*Did I try lights out too early?
*Should I feed an extra feeding in the middle of the night?
*How much % harvest of a 5 gal bucket of rot culture is typically sieved and fed per 'serving'? (I know different batches will require different amounts - but say for a batch of 50 - how much would you use?)
*some other factor I have not really considered?