can i collect zoo plankton from the sea to feed clowns fry

can i collect zoo plankton from the sea to feed clowns fry

Postby q8breeder » Thu Oct 09, 2014 2:55 am

good day
My name is sultan and i am from kuwait , i am new to breeding and would like to start with clown fish .
i have done allot of readings about clown fish first feed to find that rotifer are the first feed for almost every one who is in breeding ,
in my case rotifer would be hard to culture simply because i have to order every thing from out side the country as our shops don't have , live plankton , rotifer cultures , plankton feed and so on . so i was thinking to capture some zoo plankton from the gulf to use as a first feed.
what i would like to know.

1 - is this a good first fry feed for clown fish.
2 - once i capture the zoo plankton how can i keep them healthy.
3 - is their any thing more i need to know or do to this work.

any comment will help ,
thank's
q8breeder

State/Region: kuwait

Re: can i collect zoo plankton from the sea to feed clowns f

Postby ichthyogeek » Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:41 pm

Umm...from what I've read, it also has to do with micron size, and ease of capture. All of the following I've learned through reading, and none through experience, so take this advice as you want to:
1)Rotifers are good because they act as nutrient transporters, in that the larval fish gain whatever nutrients that the rotifer just ate (such as algae high in HUFA's). The rotifers also do not act like normal plankton, in that they glide rather than jump like plankton. If you could isolate what the fry are eating, then culture/collect that specific organism, then yes, you could feed zooplankton to the baby fish.
2)You would have to feed the zooplankton some sort of unicellular free floating algae (phytoplankton)like Nannochloropsis, Tetraselmis, Isochrysis, etc. The zooplankton would need to be enriched before you fed it to the fry.